The Minor Singles has been decided after the playing of the quarter finals, semi-finals and final. The pick of the quarter finals was a 35 end tussle between Lawrie Riley and Ray Downey. Riley led early but Downey gradually played himself into the match and the two players went shot for shot. Riley was rewarded for his greater consistency and ended up winning 31 – 27. Marcel Kors seemed to have his match with Alan Skelton well in hand at 20 – 5 before Skelton showed his mettle to chip away at the margin. However, the lead was too big and Kors won 31 – 18.

Michael Challice started well against Peter Macdonald but found that Macdonald managed the very tricky conditions better than he did. Des Jackson played Lou Kozlik and held the upper hand for most the match. Kozlik never gave up but Jackson won 31 – 16.

In the semi-finals Riley continued his great form and proved too experienced and consistent for Jackson recording a big win. The second semi was a real nail biter between Kors and Macdonald. Kors jumped to a 9 – 2 lead before the momentum swung to Macdonald who moved to a 13 – 10 advantage. The lead then changed between the players until they reached 23 all. Macdonald then played some great bowls to grab a 29 – 24 lead before Kors held his nerve to fightback and grab the last three ends to win 31 – 29.

The final between Lawrie Riley and Marcel Kors was another long, closely fought battle with 37 ends needed to determine a winner. As in his semi-final, Kors had the better of the early ends and moved to a 16 – 7 advantage. Riley then started to close the gap and by the 22nd end had drawn level at 19 all. In the next phase of the game Kors held a slender lead until Riley finally grabbed the lead at 25 – 24 after 32 ends. He then moved to 28 – 25 before Kors again move ahead 29 – 28. The Championship was decided on the next end when Riley picked up 3 shots to win 31 – 29! Well done to both players for the way they played throughout the Championship and for the spirit in which the tough final was played! Congratulations to the Champion – Lawrie Riley!