Joe Cremona has claimed the 2017 Minor Singles Championship following a very strong performance in the Final against Peter Macdonald played on Tuesday. As expected the early ends were very close as both players settled into the match. After 10 ends Cremona held a slender 7 – 5 lead.

Joe Cremona – the 2017 Minor Singles Champion

From this point he was able to take control of the game and moved ahead to be 21 – 10 in front after 20 ends. Macdonald had difficulty in closing the gap. Each time he seemed to be on a roll, Cremona was able to play a crucial bowl to hold onto his lead.

In the end Cremona won 31 – 20 and fully deserved his win which is a real reward for his dedication to the game and his continued efforts to improve his play. Macdonald acquitted himself well but could not match Cremona’s play on the day. Congratulations to both players but particularly to Cremona on gabbing his first title!

On Saturday 24 players participated in the first day of a mixed Lightning Singles event aimed at giving all players the opportunity to be involved in more singles matches and to also experience set play.

The players were drawn in eight groups of three with each group playing a round robin. Each game consisted of two sets of five ends. A tie breaker of one end was used if they ended one set all.

Points were awarded for winning sets and winning overall. After the eight round robins the highest points scoring players were determined. The eight leading players – Denise Lidbury, Alan McLeod, Peter Macdonald, Rose Farrington, Irene Martin, Peter Bird, Ivan Balentovic and John Monks – will now play in a knockout next Saturday.

There will be a blind draw for the quarter finals and semi finals. These games, and the final, will played over two sets of five ends and should produce some exciting play.

Before these matches are played the Club will host a two-day Carnival – The Tuross Head Lakeside Triples – on Wednesday and Thursday. A full field has nominated to play 7 ten end games of two bowls triples. It will be a busy time for the 84 players competing for the very generous prize money up for grabs.