Tuross Head Men’s Bowling Club has staged another successful Lakeside Triples with 24 teams competing for over $4,000 in prizemoney over two days. Teams travelled from Sydney, ACT, Bega, Wollongong and from the nearby clubs with the visiting teams filling all six of the placegetters.

In a very tight competition none of the sides were able to go through the rounds undefeated! In the end the final placings were determined by a one shot result between the two sides that finished first and second. The team of Phil Matthews and Thelma and Dave Roberts from Towradji edged out Dave Johnson, Dave Carter (Moruya) and Jason Hossack (Bodalla). Both sides won six games with Hossack’s only loss being a one shot defeat by the Towradji side. Roberts recovered from a first round loss to end with six wins and a margin of plus 33.

Hossack’s side also had six wins but their margin was plus 24. It is the second year in a row that they have finished agonisingly close in second place!

The sides that finished third, fourth and fifth all won 5 games had one draw and one loss. Again they were separated by their ‘shots margin’. The Bega side of Hedley Lucas, Tony Sturt and Lynton Riddell finished third with 11 points plus 16. Jay Breust ( Malua Bay) teamed with Weston Creek’s Ian Whybrow and Bruce Wall to finish 4th with 11 points plus 9.

The Tuggeranong side of Sean Allen, Michael Corby and Dale Budnick stummblled at the last hurdle losing their last game and were relegated from leader to fifth with 11 points and plus 8!!!

The final prize money winners were last year’s champions Keith Pickett (Narooma), Jeff Rankin (Moruya) and Mollymook’s Nick King. They were the best of the 5 game winners with 10 points and plus 23.

A big thank to everyone at Club Tuross who supported this event – Steve Hodge, the bar staff, the kitchen and our fantastic green keepers led by Tim Watson!!!