The 2021 Fours Championship has finally been decided following several delays due to the weather and player unavailability. The semi-finals and finals were able to be played given the break in the very wet period we are experiencing.

The first semi proved to be a real ‘nail-biter’ with the team of Des Jackson, Alan McLeod, Col Fletcher and Marcel Kors coming from behind to overtake Bruce Magilton, Jonathan Green, Irene Macdonald and John Monks on the last end! Kors had a dream start when his side picked up 5 shots on the first end but from there the game was closely fought. Monks’ team was able to gain some momentum between the 11th and 15th ends to set up the biggest lead of the game of 20 – 14.

But their good work was cancelled out on the 16th end when they dropped another 5 shots and when Kors won the next end the scores were locked at 20 all. Monks steadied and went into the last end leading 23 – 21. On a very exciting final end, Kors was able to score 3 shots to take the match 24 – 23!!

The other semi was very one sided with Mick and Di Challice and Denise and Bruce Lidbury outplaying Chris Roxby and Len, Rita and Noel Downie. The game was virtually over after 8 ends with Lidbury setting up a 16 – 0 lead. As well as the Lidbury team played, Downie’s side was right off their usual steady game. In the end Lidbury marched into the final with a massive 29 – 6 victory.

Based on the semi-final results Lidbury went into the final as a warm favourite! In a very low scoring match the first 9 ends were determined by a single shot and by this stage an upset was on the cards. Driven by excellent draw bowls from lead, Des Jackson, and second, Alan McLeod, Kors had a 10 – 2 lead after 11 ends. 3 shots on the 12th end gave Lidbury some hope but Kors replied with 3 of their own on the next end to restore their advantage.

The game and Championship was finally decided on the 19th end when Kors was able to pick up 4 shots to set up an almost unassailable lead of 19 – 9. In the end they took out the title with a 20 – 10 win.

Well done to the victors! This was an historic event as it was the first time that it was played as an open gender event! All bowlers across the State now move into a new phase as the bowling season has been changed to run from July to June! The next official season will be 2022 – 2023 starting in July!